Roundpen Sour?

Visit site
help!! Im new to the natural horsemanship thing, got as far as leaning over my youngster to find things not quite right, very tense! enlisted the help of a natural horseman,been there 6 wks, learnt loads, join up follow up etc, all going very well if incredibley slowly ( and i mean 2 -3 hours just to tack up!) all going ok, but the weekend , after he has been good just walking in round pen under saddle for over a week, he decided to buck my instructor off!! then didnt want to do anything.Do they get sour of doing the same thing day after day? is going so slow ever going to work? any thoughts?? i am close to just giving up!:mad::confused:

scally

Visit site
I am assuming that if you are doing join up then you are using one of Kelly Marks Recommended Associates.

Have you had back, teeth, saddle etc checked.

Visit site
hi, yes had his teeth done beginning of the year and his back checked before he started work, it just seems a little strange to try to bore a horse into being ridden, its all waiting around, waiting for the horse to decide he is ready, is this normal ? he seems to want the horse to be asleep all the time! i am new to this method, and his groundwork is great, but it just seems odd to just wait around for the horse to be ready to be sat on

JanetGeorge

www.horseandhound.co.uk
There are - no doubt - good NH trainers. This one sounds like one of the other sort! I gather your horse is being backed???

IF a horse is allowed to be half asleep through his early work, he WILL wake-up with a vengeance at some stage!! A horse can't LEARN anything by going to sleep - he should be relaxed about the process but he also needs to be reasonably alert and listening!

And yes, you CAN bore a horse senseless - to the point where he switches off! Or decides to end the boredom!

Visit site