rubber matting, shavings, aquamax and confusion!!!!!

debonhorse

Visit site
Hi all,
After such a great response from my first posting (feeding calmers) I am now after more advice.
I am in the process of putting rubber matting in my stables, I note on here that a lot of people use shavings on top. I have been doing a lot of internet research and a product called Aquamax sounds really good.
Does anyone use this? and how good is it.? Does it work out much more expensive than shavings? How much would I need to use to start with? how much would I need to put down over the week?
Any advice would be very gratefully recieved. I have never used rubber matting before, always been old fashioned straw, what are the real benefits of rubber matting except for quickness of mucking out, is it better for the horse?
could I put a dusting of shavings down and use straw on top, or is that just defeating the object.
Please help as I am so confused.

Hattikins

Visit site
rubber mats are fantastic - at home we cant speak more highly of them
smile.gif
we were in the same state of confusion as you are in now as to what to put on top of the mats so ran a test on several brands of bedding to see their absorbancy levels, shavings were not great at all although better than straw, aquamax was quite good but high maintenance to start with, and hemp i think we tried wasnt that good either. In the end Megazorb came out as the clear winner and we have used it ever since - the most fantastic stuff that looks like paper thats gone through the washing machine
wink.gif
and has been christened "popcorn bedding" because my brother thought it looked like popcorn
smile.gif
cant speak more highly of it - extremely absorbent and dust free
cool.gif
google it - they definately have a website if you're interested
wink.gif

debonhorse

Visit site