Schooling Livery

Cantata007

New User
Visit site
HI

Just after a bit of advice. I plan to send my 5 yo for schooling in the new year. I have broken him myself, but I have been ill for the most part of this year and and so I am afraid he has been a little neglected on the schooling front. Last time I rode him was August, and I still haven't managed to get him out on the road.

So I want somwhere I can send him for 1 - 2 months that will sort him out and hopefully return him as a "proper" horse.

Trouble is I have no experience of these places, he is currently kept at my house, in a paddock with a field shelter and not at all used to 'yard life'.

has anyone got any adivice as for what I should be looking for, what sort of prices I would expect to pay if he was kept at grass livery, and any suggestions for places in worcestershire?

Sorry to have rambled on, hope somone can help!!!

Caz

jomiln

www.westendfarmstud.co.uk
When we have enquiries from potential clients for schooling livery we always get them to visit us - see horses worked and if possible let them know where we will be competing so that they can if they wish come and watch horses that have schooled by us out and about.

Also maybe ask if they have any previous clients they would let you talk to.

magic104

www.jc-countryside.co.uk
As above, as for costs they vary, but roughly £120 to £180pw. Best to try and go on recommendations and go somewhere that will allow you to ride him before bringing him back.

happihorse

Visit site
I sent my three year old to a professional horse trainer in August 2005 to be broken and ridden away. I heard about him by word of mouth and went to view the yard before arranging the training. Although I originally only wanted the horse backed and ridden away so that he could be tunred away until this year, I decided to keep him going for a couple of months. He was ridden in the school, across fields and hacked out.