Search for A Star - Riding club show horse help!!

MuffettMischief

Visit site
Hi All,

I'm looking for some advice from anyone who may have shown/been to SFAS And seen these classes. I have a lovely little mare that is stuck in between categories and I am too old to do anything county level on her! She does extremely well at local/riding club level and has won and been placed in championships at NPS and BSPS, also placed in every class at Equifest last year.

She is just within height limits at 148.6cm but rides/looks more 15hh. Do 'littlies' tend to do well in these classes? I'm going to enter Stretcholt in June.

Any advise welcome, I am a forum newbie!!

dollface

Visit site
I'm no showing expert by any means but did qualify for HOYS in RC Search for a Star in 2010. If your horse goes well then enter it as we were all very different at the finals. Make sure she is happy to do trot poles as loads of horse failed at this in the qualifying round I was in. My horse went beautifully for me and the jump and has a good pop in him but lost the plot at HOYS as the atmosphere totally got to him.
interestingly it was commented that the judges really liked the fact that the winner was in a snaffle as I presumed that a double bridle was needed and ensured that my horse was happy to go in one.
Good luck!

MuffettMischief

Visit site
Thanks dollface. She coped extremely well at Equifest in an evening performance. I thought she would explode but she just about held her cool! I don't think we will qualify but I would like to think she might be ok if we did albeit a little tense!