Sharing the riding - insurance.

amzy

Visit site
I have found someone who is interested in riding my horse as I don't have much time lately to ride myself, so just wondered what I should do about insurance for personal injury as my horse is only insured for third party, sudden death and theft. Would it be enough to have the rider sign something that says she rides at her own risk or would she need insurance? The horse will only be hacked and maybe a little schooled.
Thanks for your help.

SSM

Visit site
When I started riding a friends horse the first thing I did was take out riders insurance (I did use a dodgy 2 initialed company though!!) I felt that if I had an accident with her horse I wanted to be covered for such things as roadside veterinary attendance etc. I suggest they do the same thing too!

Toby_Zaphod

Visit site
It doesn't really matter that your horse will 'only be hacked & schooled a little', the horse is still being riden.

Phone up your insurance company & ask them about it. They'll be able to tell you the best/cheapest way to cover your friend. My insurance covers any rider on my horse, although there are only ever two people who will ride him.
smile.gif

Toby_Zaphod

Visit site
Would this be the dodgy 2 initialled company that's leaflets fall out of every horse magasine you pick up? The one that can keep its premiums low because it never seems to pay out any claims?
ooo.gif
wink.gif

amzy

Visit site
Yes, he is insured for any rider under the third party but I have no personal injury on the insurance and would hate for this girl to have an accident and then try and sue me!! I'll give her a ring and suggest she gets insurance I think. What do you think though about signing something? Will that not be good enough?

butterfly f

Visit site
i think you should suggest that she gets her own personal accident insurance. and get her to sign something saying that you accept no responsibility and she rides at her own risk.