Shire Breeding

MrsMozart

Just passing through...
Visit site
Hope you can help - a friend is looking at a youngster (breeding below) and was wondering if it's a good combination :)

Sire - Wheatland King, Dam - Hainton Patsy.

Thank you in advance folks.

abbijay

Visit site
Ok, I suppose when you say is it a good combination what do you mean? Conformationally? Temperamentally? Competition record? Or something else entirely.
Neither horse instantly jumps out at me as being super famous (I'm no expert though) From what I can work out this horse was probably bred by David Cosgrove, I don't know him particularly but I think he's bred some successful stock.
Just out of interest who is she buying off? I would probably be able to speculate more about the horse from its current owner (if it's a dealer) than blood lines really...

scrat

Visit site
I think your best bet here is to join one of the numerous Facebook groups which deal specifically with shires. Looking at the pedigrees of the sire and dam there are some well known names, however it depends what your friend is looking to do with the horse. We have two shires and they have some fantastic well known names in their breeding too, the mare has 11super supreme stallions in her line, but she is not the best example of a shire as far as showing goes. She is a decent driving horse and that's her job. The other is a youngster and we are hopeful he will do better in the show ring, but breeding isn't everything.

MrsMozart

Just passing through...
Visit site
Thank you kindly folks :)

I don't have any other information, other than I know they've seen one with this breeding and are interested in it for a riding horse for a big chap.

I know nothing about Shires, hence asking on here.

abbijay

Visit site