Should in foal mares be put up for auction

type of hat for dressage phase

• Total voters

_jetset_

Visit site
Sorry, I said yes to them being put up at 5 months. My mare is almost five months and she is absolutely fine travelling, being ridden etc. As long as it is declared I can't see the problem.

But, your earlier post said one of the mares was bagged up. Now I do think this is very very wrong and feel really sorry for the poor mare!

S_N

Visit site
I've only just caught up with your previous thread!

If ALL the info is correct and correlates to the horse, then I see little reason NOT to put it through the auction ring! I used to work in the TB industry in sales and it was not unusal to have a foal born during the January Sales and then both mare and foal go through the ring together, job lot so to speak.

PapaFrita

pilar-larcade.com
How about only a little bit in foal but no information?
smile.gif
As long as the seller tells you the mare is in foal, I suppose it's the buyer's lookout/choice....
Course that is my very simplistic outlook and I might well be missing something...

cariadssogreat

Visit site
I think I am just annoyed at the lack of welfare at the sales I went to - lack of description - and general lack of care - which I am sure is from the vendor -although surely the auctioneers have some responsibility to the animal. The RSPCA were as clueless as ever - why oh why don't the ILPH attend horse auctions instead of that lot.

Maesfen

Extremely Old Nag!
photobucket.com
I agree with you about the RSPCA, at sales, they are the most useless bunch of clowns you ever will see at one but I do not agree that mares in foal should not be put through an auction.