Showing a coloured cob

4faults

Visit site
I bought a 3 year coloured cob as a 'project' at the end of last year, ostensibly to back and sell on. After a few people trying him out I decided to keep hold of him for awhile and get some experience under his belt. He's such a sweetheart that it's an absolute pleasure to have him around.

I would like to have a crack at some showing with him this year but having never done a day of showing in my life I wouldn't know where to begin. Any advice on what classes I could do with him and what kind of turnout I would need?

Thanks in advance
ec9578280a2ee151f7baac5083f70ec2_zpsnlrkmv0o.jpg

71dc42b9e415d98ada137e9fda45fe13_zpsdsyszll2.jpg

8fa29607f292c927bbf6337a52f76dee_zpswtwtnz1r.jpg

pootleperkin

Visit site
I'm not an expert on showing coloureds, just getting in to it this year with a show cob, but as you haven't had any replies, I'll try to help and I'm sure someone will be along to correct me if I get it wrong!

The first Q is how big is he? If he is a horse (which he looks to be) then I think your only route will be horse (hunter) plaiteds, so you will need to trim feather etc. If you can squeeze him in at 15.1hh (155 cm), then you could hog and show him as a show cob (not quite sure he will be to type though - a bit long in the leg?), but I think he would be best suited as a native cob, so will need trimming a little - he doesn't have enough feather for a traditional. I'm not entirely sure if the natives have a height limit or not? Have a look at the CHAPs handbook for help - it's a pdf - see pages 7 & 8.

Whatever the class, the horse should be in a plain hunter bridle to suit his face, straightish cut saddle, and you should be in a tweed jacket and tie, velvet hat, beige breeches and black boots.

He's cute and looks to be going sweetly - I like his front, and hopefully as he develops with age his bum will round up and muscle. Have fun!

4faults

Visit site