Showing for dummies

I am after a total novice guide to showing! I am toying with the idea of doing a little but I've no idea about any of it, having been a happy hacker only for the last 10 years!
So here is my first round of questions:

1/ as I understand it, unaffiliated means anyone can have a go and affiliated means potential prize money and points on your card, but I don't understand the affiliation process. I joined the side saddle association this year and they sent me a points card - does that mean I'm affiliated?

2/ is it acceptable to take my horse to a show without competing, just so she can get used to the atmosphere? If that is allowed, do I need to ask permission?

3/ how far in advance of the first class should I arrive?

4/ any useful tips appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

conniegirl

1)unaffiliated means that anyone can enter, you don't qualify for anything, the judges are not necessarily qualified. they can still have prize money etc

Affiliated means it is run under the auspices and rules of one of the showing societies, no "points" as such, but it means judges have to be qualified, if you win (and sometimes if you come 2nd) you qualify for a championship show of some sort. Winning an affiliated class can/does affect your novice status if applicable. Most affiliated classes you do not need to be a member to enter but you do need to be a member to qualify, however some like HOYS and RIHS qualifiers you do have to be a member to enter the class.

All you have to do to become affiliated is to become a member of the relevant societies.

2) Generally not, if you go to a show with the intention of letting your horse see the sights then it is the correct thing to enter at least one class, even if you have no intention of actually going in the class. This helps shows pay for the facilities, time, judges etc and for thier insurance.