Squamous cell carcinoma and penile amputation- advice please

vickyj86

New User
Visit site
Hi
My 24 yr old cob was diagnosed with squamous cell carcinoma on his penis yesterday - 2 tumours that were hidden until he was sedated and dropped everything. He is fit and well otherwise. Vet has given me only one option of full amputation and re route of urethra done at Ashbrook hospital. Sounds like a major recovery for his age. I have asked if we could go for partial amputation and leave him with a stump so recovery might be easier but I feel backed into a corner by the vet. I only want to do the best for him.
They also only want me to use only use Ashbrook when I would prefer him to go to Leahurst.
Any advise much appreciated please. Thanks.

be positive

Visit site
I have no experience of the condition, although did lose a horse that had it in his eye, but do have experience of vets not listening to their client so I would say if you want to explore other options then do so, don't feel backed into a corner by your vet, contact Leahurst if that is your preferred practice and arrange for a second opinion, it may delay things for a few days but will make you more comfortable with whichever decision you make.

Hope it all goes well.

Visit site
It depends how high up and how far in the problem goes. We had one at work years ago that had a partial amputation. Not too long for recovery and no further problems. At 24yo I would seriously consider not going for the full refit as it is major surgery. Can you get a second opinion?

Sprout

www.horse-riding-world.com
My old boy Puzzle had this condition, and was about the same age. Vet discussed the surgery, but because of various other conditions, we decided against it. I am sorry I cant offer any useful advice, but just wanted to say, dont be bullied by a vet, take advice for sure, but trust your own instict too. X

TheBigPony

Visit site