Stubble fields, bale jumping - tresspass

Enfys

Visit site
I was reading a thread yesterday on a FB group from someone who was admitting that she snuck on to stubble fields for a bit of a hooley and to jump bales and that if she had been caught she'd just have played dumb.

I am talking South of the Border here, not Scotland where I know things are different.

So, is it OK to just sneak into fields for a gallop?

Should farmers have to lock up their land to stop horse riders?

Opinions, as landowners and/or riders...

ihatework

Visit site
As a rider, oh so tempting
As I landowner I suspect oh so rage-inducing!!

What is wrong with a rider popping over to a farm, bottle in hand, and asking for temporary access before the field is re-sown?

pansymouse

Visit site
It's not OK to ride on someone's land without permission and if I was a farmer I would lock riders out. If you take the trouble to ask, lots of farmers will let you have blatt on their stubble but if they say no or you haven't asked, stay off. In my view it's that black and white.

kathantoinette

Visit site
Courtesy to ask always. Also they in some areas they do sow the next crop directly into stubble and you might not realise its already sown as it still looks like stubble (obvs. if the bales are still in the field this is not the case). I live with a farmer and ride on our bit of land - would never ride on the neighbors land even if it was just alongside the road.

bonny

Visit site
I think people get too worked up over this issue, when I lived in England, many years ago I never thought twice about riding on stubble fields. They are only around for a couple of weeks or so and I can't remember anyone ever thinking why we shouldn't. Now I live in Scotland and it's all much more sensible and farmers still farm, still get their subsidies and no one I have ever heard of has fallen in a drain......live and let live !

Annagain

Visit site