Stud Virgin!!

Emily99

Visit site
After Ardingly RC show last weekend we've decided to stud my boy up. He's currently unshod and we had issues in the rain at the weekend when jumping slowly round a WH course. My boy's just turned five so i want him to have the confidence in his feet to jump as he was sliding everywhere.

I've never used studs before so need advice on whether to have one or two, front or back? We mainly Showjump and doing Working hunter classes. What are the pro/con of each?

Also what will i need in my 'kit'?? i've seen people using them before so i think i understand about re-threading etc but a quick guide would be ace!

Will definitely be using a stud guard on him as he's very careful jumping.

So you use pointed studs for hard ground.. and the fatter studs for wet? If anyone could give me links to pics of each would be great as i really want to get this right!

Thanks

Emz

teapot

Visit site
Shall scan in the stuff I told you about
grin.gif

siennamiller

Visit site
oooh, I watched the working hunter, have you got piccies of your boy, I prob saw you
smile.gif

how about trying one stud in each foot on the outside to start with ?

druid

Visit site
Right..

You need a spanner (get from local DIY place, horsey ones are a rip off!), a tap (I like the moulded plastic safety taps that survive if you lose the foot mid re threading, a show nail to pick the keepers out and some keepers (tip - cigarette filters from your local newsagent do just as well and are cheaper)

I use 2 studs in each foot - some use only one. I'm of the school who believe that unbalances and causes twisting of the hoof in action. For hard/sunbaked conditions I use 2 studs in each hind and nothing in front. For grass that's slippy I use them all round with slightly more pointed ones in the outside. For bottomless going I use bullets all round.

STUD-002.jpg

Smallish conical studs - good for hard going when you need grip

STUD-003.jpg

Small dome for modartely soft ground