Sunshine Tour and Individual Show

WhizzyKizzy

Visit site
Adding onto my previous post, this is my first year competing at the Sunshine Tour - it's also the largest show me and my Welsh C mare have been too, we've only ever done local shows.
We're competing in Family Horse and Pony, in hand and ridden M&M. My friend is also competing in the ridden Veteran.

Would anyone be able to give me some tips or advice for preparation and on the day? How competitive is it? Are there many spectators/trade stands or is it more of a quiet show?

I know the stables are on grass so bring a rug, bring breakfast and to check the place out before riding because it's a longer journey to the show rings than expected.

Also is the following a ok individual show for the ridden M&M: yellow= walk, green = trot, blue = canter and purple = gallop:Screenshot_2022-08-18-23-45-16-89_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg
• Walk away from the judge then turn left at the end, start trotting,
• Change diagonal,
• Start cantering in the corner and canter along long edge then come back to trot,
• Trot across the diagonal,
• Canter in the corner again and along the long side,
• Gallop when you reach the other long side,
• Come back to canter then trot till centre line,
• Walk when 6/7 paces away from the judge, stop and nod.
(I'll avoid galloping behind the line up as heard that's not recommended?)

Thank you in advance!

Last edited:

gallopingby

Visit site
Show mantra should always be keep it simple so less can go wrong. Might be a set show so in that case make sure you know exactly what is required. Walk away from judge and trot back towards them, canter at corner change of rein then extend down long side. Do not trot a figure of eight then canter same there simply won’t be enough time and the judge / spectators will be frustrated after 18 people have attempted to get a correct strike off incorrectly ?

Visit site
How much to you want to win and how much do you trust your pony?