TB is suddenly extremely nervous and spooky at everything.

Thesnowbones

Visit site
My horse is usually incredibly sound. She loves jumping, but unfortunately we had a little incident last week. She stumbled over a jump and went down onto her knees. Ever since then, she's been terrified of everything. She won't even go into the indoor school anymore, and she spooks if we go near poles that are flat on the ground. It's rather worrying, because she is usually very robust and fine. I'm hoping she's just had a little scare, but has this happened to anyone else? I managed to convince her to go into the school today after 45 mins of bribing her with treats, but she was rearing at the poles and at the doorway. Very unlike her.

Any advice would be truly appreciated. I understand that TBs are very sensitive.

Jo1987

Visit site
Could she have pulled a muscle/hurt her back etc when she stumbled and is tense because of that? Maybe get a vet/physio to check her over? I'm no expert on tb's, or mares though! Just an idea.

ycbm

Einstein would be proud of my Insanity...
Visit site
The reaction seems extreme even for a very touchy tb. I'd be looking for something the other way around. Is it possible that what made her fall is what is making her scared? Perhaps check her eyesight and do some neurological tests?

Red-1

I used to be decisive, now I'm not so sure...
Visit site
Agree with YCBM. We had a horse become spooky, and it was diagnosed to be his eyes. He had also started to trip.

Had treatment from the vet, and was fixed, no recurrence. I can't remember the actual problem, but I think it may have been an infection???

Thesnowbones

Visit site
I have actually booked the vet in now for Friday morning. She has been tripping a bit actually. I hope it's nothing serious, as she's a lovely horse. Just sensitive.

Enfys

Visit site
Glad to hear you have the vet booked.
I, like Red-1, was going to suggest eyes.