TB's feet, day after shoes off, what do we think?

dressagelove

Visit site
So, Im too excited and wanted to get some pics at you and see what you think so far.
He is a little footsore already today, even on the soft arena, but Im trying not to panic! lol

Hope this works, Im still a bit of a novice with photobucket:

http://s1104.photobucket.com/albums... Feet December/Jan 2012 Archie goes shoeless/

Compare those to these taken pre-shoeing in December and I think we are getting somewhere already no?

http://s1104.photobucket.com/albums/h330/Hayley_Sheppard/Archies Feet December/

TigerTail

Visit site
Dont panic! :)

Question, what is the red around his heels/bulbs here??

IMG00167-20120106-1345.jpg

TigerTail

Visit site
hmm almost looks sore/raw to me - thats why I thought id better check!

Ive seen a lot worse looking feet, my own mares included ( :eek:) though they look a bit boxy in shape to me. How big is the horse those are under?

Youve also got some thrush going on in the central sulcus which id be scrubbing out and spraying with silvetrasol then packing with field paste :)

dressagelove

Visit site
Okay cool, thanks tigertail. He's 16.1hh

yeah, I know he has some thrush, I'll try that thanks. Anything I can do about that soreness, redness, or should that harden up over time?

amandap

Visit site
I'd do a thrush treatment regime this may be part of the reason for any soreness. It becomes obvious when shoes removed because frogs are no longer lifted off the ground. Circulation and nerve endings will be working better too.
A soak in cleantrax and application of a good product daily. I believe red horse products are good. Anti fungal (canestan 2%)cream mixed with an antibacterial cream injected or crammed deep into the frog cleft daily is another option after the soak. I've read of folding gauze and 'flossing' gently to clean and apply cream deep into the cleft works too.