Team Reggie: Smokey goes to Burghley! An odd day out...

Lolo

Visit site
Odd because every time we say how he went people commiserate and we're all standing there singing Smoke's praises for all we're worth :D

The day started early. 4am early. I am a student, this is not a time I tend to wake up to- fall sleep to/ glance at as it passes sure, but not wake up to. We vaguely scrubbed him and checked he had all four legs before pointing him towards the lorry. Luckily he's as snoozy as we were and it was a half asleep Team Reggie that trundled off to Burghley.

Al was the very first on, which was nice as it meant she had pretty much the entire warm up to herself, and Smokes settled really nicely. They've been working really hard at home in getting him to really seek the contact and stretch and soften and he's producing a really lovely trot now. His canter is still a bit too big for him to find his balance but it's slowly coming on. He tries so so hard and improves in every session :)

[youtube]sPmq_8PQ6VA[/youtube]
Here is the test, Al focussed on keeping him really calm and soft, and letting him really show his new trot off but trying to keep the canter really forwards rather than worrying about how elegant it looks. He really tried, and it was the best test he's ever done.

10511204_10204372755426080_3746169505844746761_n.jpg

10489972_10204372761986244_5431688160259753161_n.jpg

1610754_10204372760706212_2336671376456434278_n.jpg

(he's got a bit too much oomph behind, and it can get a bit all on the forehand so Al really aimed to keep him up and forwards)

He got lots and lots of pats and polos when he came out, and was very pleased with himself!
10442543_10204372767186374_205579177426347729_n.jpg

Amazingly he scored a brilliant 33.6, which left him 4th after the dressage in a class of 35!