Tell me I'm not the only who spends what I haven't got ..!

Stella

Visit site
My mare has a truly horrible left canter. She used to have a truly horrible canter on both reins, but we have some progress
tongue.gif
Before I got her she just hunted and it seems she must have constantly gone around with a right bend and a right canter lead! She has a very strong preferrence for this still and even in trot, its a tough job a lot of the time to get her to bend correctly and soften. I am a novice rider (only first sat on a horse 7 years ago) and in canter her way of going makes what little skill I have with the pace disapear and I make her way of going worse. We reached a point where she was just getting tense and anxious about the transition, so my trainer started working with her (well her dressage pupil under her supervision). This has been going on twice a week for a few of months. The right canter has improved dramatically, she is no longer anxious about the transition on the left and her ability (bend, impulsion, straightness) in trot has come on tremedously (I could have got there, but the side benefit of the schooling for cante got us there quicker). However, her left canter is still hideous 90% of the time and there has to be several aborted attempts using 'inventive' aids before the correct lead appears
crazy.gif
The upshot of all this is that I'm stuck doing Walk and Trot tests with her for what seems like an interminable time, since if my trainer can't get a decent left canter, let alone one on the correct lead without fancy riding, I don't stand a hope in hell
frown.gif