Those who feed minerals

fizzer

Visit site
Just had my feed plan back and ordered all minerals ( am quite poor now).

For those of you that have been using minerals for a while, do you find it very expensive, or about the same as before, or is it quite cost effective after the initial start up.

Just wondered as I now know I will be feeding for exactly what is needed and not what I just guessed at.

Thankyou. I am a mineral Novice. !!!

Oberon

Visit site
I feed Lysine, copper, zinc, magnesium, biotin to balance my forage and I also add linseed, yea-sacc, cat's claw, salt, turmeric, fenugreek too.

A year's feed for two horses will cost;

£20.60 for 1kg Copper
£21.50 for 1kg Zinc
£35.99 for 3.5kg Magnesium Oxide
£18.30 for 3kg Lysine (will last me two years)
£23.99 for 1.8kg Biotin

= £120.38

£20.60 for linseed (although I MIGHT need two bags over the year)

£2.33 for a kg fenugreek seed (I might buy 2 or 3kgs over the year)
£5.05 for a kg turmeric (might use 2kg in a year)
£16.25 for 1kg Cat's Claw (might last me 2 years)
£27.90 for 2kg Yea-sacc (although I've got it for free recently)
£2.00 for salt
£30.93 for Vitamin E capsules for the year for the old boy.

5 bags of Speedibeet, 10 bags of Fast Fibre and 3 bags of hay chaff (my elderly boy is on a forage replacer diet, so he goes through a lot over the winter)

Added together - this is all likely double what I would pay for the different types of commercial feed I would need for two totally different horses, plus magnesium and general supplements.

BUT - I can pick up what I need at different times and if they came in sacks lined with gold, I couldn't buy a better feed for them than what they are getting at the moment.

So I don't begrudge the money at all.

Oberon

Visit site
Fun on my day off...
lol.gif

mineralsoncooker.jpg

mineralsinbin.jpg

fizzer

Visit site