Thoughts please

3OldPonies

Visit site
This might ramble, so I apologise in advance, it's really just me thinking aloud and wondering what other people would do in this situation.

A while ago I posted about the possibility of taking on the horse that I've been riding for a friend (17 yrs old with arthritis and bad feet). Since then I've not seen his owner, she has been away, and we'd had a slight falling out (nothing serious) so haven't really been in contact either. Anyway, yesterday there was an incident with a fire near the stables where he is kept and I got talking to the YO last night as my boys were also near the scene, fortunately well out of harms way. (I do hope none of them read this.) We got on to the subject of this horse as he was pretty badly frightened and has upset his arthritis through charging around to the point at which he is now lame. We were just chatting lightly about this and what to do for him, when his feet were mentioned. Turns out that his feet haven't been seen now for well over the 7 weeks normal trimming period and owner wants to leave until the end of this month when the farrier is next visiting my chaps as she doesn't want the expense of him being out of sync with her other horse who was seen a week before the last appointment for a separate issue to the routine trim. His feet are now a right state, chipped, cracked, flaking, smelly frogs and so on. Then she mentions his tooth. Tooth? I say completely innocently as his oral care has never come up for discussion before. She is shocked that I don't know. He has a wobbly tooth that can get infected from time to time as it really should come out - but like the feet the owner won't pay for it, although a cleaning appointment has been booked by the YO as her horses are due an EDT visit. This explains why he had been backing off when he sees his bridle - something, along with the feet, I mentioned to the owner.