Tie back Surgery symptoms later on

Mon G

Visit site
Hi! I’m looking for some advice, if anyone could help please (I’m new to this page)

I have recently bought a new horse 10yrs old, bay, thoroughbred. He is wonderful.

The previous owner said that he has a tie back surgery when he was younger and that his runny nose was an ongoing symptom.

I have noticed that he coughs up a lot of clumps of grass and his nose discharge has a funky smell. I had a vet out to do his teeth and check it out, they said he was fine.

I just wanted to know if anyone else had come across these symptoms and if I should be doing/feeding or anything to help him?

Thank you!!!

ycbm

Einstein would be proud of my Insanity...
Visit site
You should feed him only from the floor and never feed him when travelling.

Did you have him vetted, and if so what did the vet say? Because a tie back shouldn't create those problems and I was able to feed mine any way I wanted, but it's way too risky for yours, I'm afraid.

Mon G

Visit site
Thank you for your reply!

So, I only had him vet checked when I got him here, I did not have him vetted prior to purchasing him. The vet said that often grass can get caught in the partially open larynx so he thinks that could be the cause of the smell?

I do feed him only on the ground as the previous owner also mentioned this.

ihatework

Visit site

So, I only had him vet checked when I got him here, I did not have him vetted prior to purchasing him. The vet said that often grass can get caught in the partially open larynx so he thinks that could be the cause of the smell?

IME the only time you get a proper smell is when there is infection. There is an increased chance of respiratory infection as they can aspirate. In the circumstances you describe I’d want a scope and trach wash just to rule anything out.

ycbm

Visit site