To snaffle or not to snaffle...

bex1984

Visit site
Murphy has been in his pelham for ages, following many failed attempts to get him in a snaffle. He's not strong in a snaffle, but loves his pelham.

Anyway, long story short, he now has sharers who are complete beginners so I've attempted to switch him to a snaffle again and found out that he jumps much better in it - hooray - so have been attempting to persist and see if he'd settle in it.

Took him showing yesterday and felt that he didn't do as well as he could have, because he was so tense in the snaffle. He will work in an outline and go forwards really nicely in his pelham, but is stuffy and tense in the snaffle, clenches his jaw, chucks his head in the air, basically very evasive (teeth checked, dentist can't see any physical reason for all this - thinks it's in his head).

So - do I persist with the snaffle and hope he settles? Do I just give up on him working nicely and stick with the snaffle? Do I school him in his pelham, jump in snaffle and ask sharers to ride in snaffle? Or is there another option?

We only go to shows a handful of times a year but when we do I like to think we've done it justice and done the best we can do.

Thoughts and opinions much appreciated... thankies :)

ThePony

Visit site
So very many different types of snaffle. It is likely that the one you are currently trying him with isn't suiting his mouth confo, not a problem with the type of bit itself. Also the pelham will be much more still in his mouth so it is quite a change.

What snaffle are you currently trying, and what mouthpiece did he have on his pelham? Also what is his mouth confo like?

*hic*

village idiot :D
Visit site
When you say "snaffle" what type do you mean?

Also had you considered losing the curb (assuming that's what you're worried about) by getting him the same mouthpiece as his pelham but with hanging cheeks and no shanks?

Crazydancer

Visit site