Top line advice

shadowboy

Visit site
Hello, I was at a show yesterday and although we were placed first (because he gave such a forward going comfortable ride) The judge said he needed more of a topline.
I have been working him in a lovely round shape for the last 4 months with some improvement, but no bulging muscles yet lol!
He has been on a diet to get rid of his belly so is scoring about 2.5 to 3 on a body score. I work him at least three days a week but usually four. our week consists of
1. One to two hour hack (with gallop or trot ut several hills and ditch to jump etc)
2. A 30 min lunging session of which 20 min is spent in a pessoa
3. A one hour flatwork schooling session whire 45 min is spent ridden in a contact working from behind and with the aim of encouraging him to release his back firther
4. A 30 to 40 min jumping lesson (if ground soft enough as indooe arena too small for jumpin)

So why is he lacking in topline- what is it im doing wrong. I dont want a fat horse just one with more shape. Is it his age he is only 5? although there is a five year old mare at the yard who is far more developed than he is. He is an ID x Hannovarian.

What feedstuff help improve topline?

Any info readily accepted!

Caritas

Visit site
Try and do some more work in the pessoa and tryaddingTop spec feed balancer to his meals at the same time. It would be an idea to work him most days if possible, he is still growing and building up does take time. Good luck!!

Maesfen

Extremely Old Nag!
photobucket.com