Western vs English??

SnowPhony

Visit site
Anyone here do both? Which do you prefer?

I've recently ridden western a fair few times with a friend whose horses are western trained. I have never done it before and I have to say I loved it! Horses were superb, great fun and so responsive. I felt like a lemon to start with, but once I got used to it I loved it!

So thoughts people. Which do you prefer? And if anyone has horses trained in both, which do they prefer??

perfect11s

Visit site
Western
cool.gif
... nicer for the horses because of classical riding and training methods with feel and a partnership.. not pulling and kicking, nice people at the shows and as a man I like the fact I can dress like one to show my horses,and not look like a twit or some sort of throwback to a bygone age... however girls still look great in english gear
grin.gif

FeatherPower

Visit site
My lad was broken western and then reschooled English (all before I got him) He still neck-reins though and all his aids are totally messed up - hence me having him reschooled over the next few months.

Don't do both is my advice!

I too have ridden Western in Canada and it is a much more relaxed way of riding I think for both the rider and the horse - but English looks so much prettier and more controlled!

Theresa_F

Visit site
I happily swing both ways.

I think there is nothing more comfortable than a big western saddle on a clydesdale for hacking out. It is also the best saddle if you are leading another horse as you have the horn to grab if the led horse quickly stops - saved me a couple of times.

Not so good if you are jumping - I find anything more than 2' starts to get difficult.

My treeless is a good compromised between english and western - very comfortable and relaxed but you can do schooling and very small jumps in it.

Personally I like having both saddles so I can hack and relax western and then jump and school in the english.