What bedding is best on rubber matting?

fairyclare

Visit site
Hi, I'm a newbie here!! I'm moving my mare on 2 rubber mats soon and wondered what type of bedding would be best, she is on shavings at the mo but when she moves yards and i have to pay her keep (included in my wages at the mo as i am an over worked under paid groom!) i won't be able to keep her bed as it is now (4 bales a week!) she is very clean and i am a little over the top with her bed. I hate paper and straw so any other suggestions would be ace or should i just stick with what i know and have a small shavings bed on top of the rubber matting?

Jay89

Visit site
I wud say shavings. she wouldnt need as much bedding as the mats are uite thick sum ppl jus keep em on rubber mats...though i wud put dwn shaving to absorb wee!!

Hanz

Visit site
shavings, they are the best to absorb water and wee! with straw most will be going under the mats and they will start to whiff!

lizzie_liz

Visit site
with rubber matting you need less bedding so would go through less bedding and 4 bales is alot of shavings to go through in a week.
how about deep litter and only take the wet out once a week, you would then go through less bedding

Frazer

Visit site
Shavings, I have rubber matting and still go overboard with my shavings altough is included in the price! She has about a bale a week in her stable! But she is very messy. I love shavings but i do fing even with rubber matting i still put down the same as before to make it look better.

Hattikins

Visit site
MEGAZORB it is absolutely fantastic and u need to use very little on rubber matting for it to work very effectively-it is ten times more absorbent than shavings and very quick to muck out
grin.gif
(sorry as u can see i am a big fan!!) we have used it for a couple of years now and wouldnt use anything else on rubber matting
tongue.gif
if u need more info just ask
smile.gif

pocket

Visit site