what do you do if.......

Claireg9

Visit site
your pregnant and still wanting to ride?
my friend is struggleing to find jodphurs to fit, is there asuch a thing as maternity jodphurs/riding wear?

horsegirl

Visit site
Should you ride when pregnant? Surely it can't be advised? Would be interested to hear the opinions of others. Can't she wear leggings? They would be quite comfortable I would imagine.

Halfpass

Visit site
I'm a midwife and of course you can carry on riding. Basically if you feel comfy than carry on doing what you would normally (obviously advanced eventing may not be ideal!!
laugh.gif
). The problem realy only comes when heavily pregnant with getting on and off. If the pregnancy is straight forward then carry on!! Obviously take advice from your own midwife if there are complications. Leggings for riding also seem like a very good idea cheap and stretchy!!!!
grin.gif

Claireg9

Visit site
She needs the padding at the knees, plus she says she doesnt want to look like a tramp! (We have some really smart people at our yard. Shes only 4.5 months at the mo, as it gets to uncomfy she'll stop but i dont think its a probklem to do light schooling.

Sooty

Visit site
Pregnancy is not an illness, and should not be treated as such. Riding is great exercise. Taken to the extreme, you wouldn't get out of bed when pregnant! I wouldn't take too much notice of NHS direct, they have been known to be wrong about one or two things and I suspect this may be one of them.

harvgj19

Visit site
As long as she feels comfortable I see no reason for her not to carry on riding. It is her choice after all.

As for NHS Direct not recommending it, well, she could trip and fall down in the street, or fall down the stairs, but you won't see them encouraging you to stay in bed the whole time wrapped in cotton wool either!!!!

Prudence

Visit site