What do you feed/how do you manage yours who has ulcers?

Charmin

Visit site
She's on working nuts, dengie hi-fi and oats in the summer for an added sparkle. She's out 24/7 anyway and has access to haylage in the winter.

I'm completely new to this and not sure what to change her to. No cereal I understand, and little starch? But she holds her weight very well (perhaps a little too well) so nothing that would cause too much weight gain.

She gets a net of haylage before being ridden anyway.

Just not sure what to feed that won't break the bank. Any supplements that people would recommend?

JillA

Visit site
If it ain't broke. don't fix it. If she is managing well on cereals/starches then she doesn't have a problem. If she does have an intolerance, metabolic issue etc, then there are lots of options on the market these days. Fast Fibre, unmollassed beet pulp, grass pellets, maybe with micronized linseed and a decent balancer (such as Top Spec) will provide a diet without too much sugars or starches.
As for supplements, other than a balancer only give what you need to address a problem such as joints, feet etc, and then there are a whole host to choose from

Spotsrock

Visit site
Mine had a course of aloe vera from living health then I keep him with ad lib roughage,

I soak all his nuts so they dont aggravate his tummy and i feed him Protexin which really seems to help. Sucks less and keeps weight on well on soo much less feed than when not on it.

I never feed cereals as they seem to make him flare up. If I can't soak it to a mush he doesn't have it (apart from chaff), oh and low sugar.

He's forward and his magnesium supplement seems to help, less stressed so less tummy stress.

JJS

Visit site
The best thing for my ulcer-prone mare was a simple diet of Dengie Healthy Tummy (Hi-Fi Lite could be used instead for a good doer) and Fast Fibre, plus constant access to forage.

Fruitcake

Visit site