What is the 'kindest' bit?

Denzalwood

Visit site
Straight bar rubber Mullen mouth is pretty kind imo, you can bend it in half with your own hands with ease, Horses do chew them sometimes though :p

Petalpoos

Visit site
No bit at all, try it you might be supprised.

Pastie2 - I tried a Dr Cooks for a while and actually my horse was fine in it, although I could not get her in an outline in it, biggest problem was she is a real piglet and she would randomly stock her head down and eat! (Not what you think :-0 I have been riding for 45 years but my 65 kilos does not win over her 600!)

Tickles

Visit site
Sidepull bridle... i.e. no bit, nothing as severe as a hackamore can be and no all round head pressure like a Dr Cooks/similar either.

But if answering the question as it was probably meant I'd guess a well-fitting straight bar rubber bit. With loose rings and quiet hands. In most cases. Obviously it depends what suits the horse in question.

Rosie Round The Hills

Visit site
This may be a controversial choice, but I ride Rosie in a Waterford, after having done some bit-changes in our first season hunting. I've kept it in this summer and having reflected on it many times, I've come to the conclusion that it's probably more comfortable for her than any other bits I've got.

As with all bits - if used incorrectly by a rider with unkind hands - it can cause pain. But that's not how I use it.

Enfys

Visit site
How long is a piece of string? :(

I honestly believe that there isn't one style/family of bit that is the kindest, so many variables to consider, and therefore dependent on the horse and rider.

I am quite sure many of us have seen mouths bruised (and bloody) from a snaffle and a hard pulling horse out hunting, jumping, whatever. If a pelham (whatever) works for one particular horse and he is happy then that is the kindest bit for that horse.