What stage should my 2yo be at?

Woodland

Visit site
Hi there
My mare had a surprise foal who will be 2 in February. At the moment she is living out 24/7 and will happily lead, pick out feet etc. But lately a real stubborn steak has emerged and she has started to rear to avoid co-operating with me and just generally being a bit of a tyrant. I am not very experienced with handling stubborn youngsters but hey im trying my best! Should I invest in a pressure halter which may deter her from rearing? Or is that too much for a 2yo? What are your views?
Thanks

the watcher

Visit site
Is she rearing when you are taking her out of her comfort zone (ie the field)..this is the start of napping and will be a real problem of you don't get her out of it..maybe trying leading her out for something nice (food) and then progressively make the distance longer, interspersing food with grooming or just some games so that she doesn't know what to expect

AmyMay

Situation normal
Visit site
We have a two year old who is just lovely, lovely, lovely - but does have a little mind of her own!!!

She is led in a pressure halter as she does have a tendancy to get a bit keen sometimes - and standing on her hind legs is one of the way she vents her frustration.

She is brought in every night so is consistently handled - which helps. She's not particularly small - and I have to be honest and say that I can be a bit of a wimp, but I find that as long as I am calm, try not to get wound up about any misbehaving then she is as good as gold.

You will get others on here with far more advise to offer - but I am a total convert to pressure halters - and use one now as a matter of course. We even use it on the foal!

amandaco2

Visit site
read up on youngsters-the richard maxwell book has a section on teenage rebellions!