What would you class as a novice?

SamanthaUK

Visit site
I'm going to be honest with myself and with you guys,
i've been riding for 12 years in July. I can walk, trot, canter, gallop, jump etc.. although the highest i've jumped is 2ft 9. Anyway, I'm confident and I know how to control and ride etc.. The only problem is my balence. I can't trot in a school and ask for canter, I bounce all over the place and it's getting me down.

Would you class me as a novice? And how can I help this problem? :}

UP: I've been hunting, i've showjumped, i've also done ridden classes at shows.

nikicb

www.facebook.com
Just a quick reply on the 'what you can do' part of you post - can you have a few lunge lessons so you can really work on your position and seat - that should help work out what you are doing wrong and help you to get the feel.

I'll leave the experts to define 'novice' - I think there was a thread about it sometime back and opinions varied greatly. ;)

Brandy

Visit site
You know I was only thinking about this last week when there was a lot of discussion about novice riders/riding school riders etc and I'm not sure what I would class as novice!

I have ridden all my life, and am 34, I've owned horses since I was late teens. I've done BHS stages, but don't teach (can't stand teaching!!) I've worked in riding schools and a decent dressage yard, and a showing yard, I've broken in, brought on, a little bit of buying and selling (not much as I hate the selling) and completed sucessfully at county level showing, and unaffiliated dressage. I would consider myself as experienced in that I have experienced and learnt a lot.

However, I have never really jumped much - if a horse can and will jump, I am happy to let it take me round any course, but I don't have experience of helping the horse when it comes to jumping. So I would class myself novice with jumping I guess.....saying that, I have done quite a bit of jumping with the ones I have had that DO jump!