What's wrong with my boy??

BorgRae

Visit site
Hi everyone!

I’m looking for some thought’s or theories and some advice or experience please?

I’ll try to make it as brief as poss but give as much info as I can…

Ok, so I’ve been re-training my lad for the last 6 months. Previously he was a happy hack for a year and before that, left in a field with no attention.

Anyhoo, everything has been going really well, we’ve done some dressage tests etc, have lessons once a week… etc… Saddler checked and adjusted saddle at beginning of December and he had his regular physio check up, no pain. Excellent!! On with work…

Then the problems started…

Day 1 - 2 weeks ago, at the very start of my lesson, he was getting a little too close to the fence, so outside let went on to move him over, and he freaked, kicking out and jumping/jogging. I turned him in small circles assuming he was being naughty, and everything was fine. Good lesson, no issues.

Day 2 - Hacked, no issues.

Day 3 – Schooled. He was resistant in the contact, faffing with his head, breathing a little funny, but nothing too worrying. At this point I thought there was something up with his teeth.

Day 4 – Hacked. Not happy at all, shaking head, reluctant to trot. Got off, called dentist and decided not to ride until dentist came. He was last done April.

1 week later…

Dentist came, and said although he’s ready for his teeth doing, there’s nothing glaringly obvious wrong. No sharp edges etc, however he is packing food between two teeth on either side, nothing major, but she said this could cause him to be uncomfortable. She removed the food and advised I hosed his mouth twice a week. There was also a slight pinch on the inside of his right cheek that she said could have caused an issue. She advised a couple of days to rest his mouth, a new thinner bit, then gentle hack to get used to bridle and then back to work.

So, that was Friday. Didn’t ride over the weekend to rest his mouth, but loose schooled.