When will we get grass again.

Groom Mum

Visit site
I was looking at my field today. I almost cried. It's trashed. I've split it down the middle to try to save it. The part directly in front of my stable doors is a foot deep of slushy mud. It's taken all of my strength not to fall flat on my face in it the last few months. In fact I have gone over twice. That particular bit I honestly don't think without re seeding it that grass will ever grow there again. But will the rest of the field ever recover ? Will the spring grass come through again.? This is my first year at managing my own land, and I'm so worried it's not going to come back properly. My other field I saved and saved but it was a bit of a mistake as the grass is a little bit yellow in places, although most of it is still edible. I have come to realise that having your own land and trying to manage it is a bigger and harder part than looking after the horses. That bit is a breeze !!

paddi22

Visit site
i'm in the same boat! mine looks like a disaster and i completely mis managed it. I'm praying for the grass to come through again!

paddi22

Visit site
Didn't section off correct areas at all! or switch them at the right time. Have seven acres plus an acre paddock and its all destroyed, with not a jot of grass.

I have a small all weather paddock but didn't move them into it as I had building work at the time. But I moved them in a panic into small paddock when the snow came, and then as it melted they completely destroyed an acre in a few days. If I had have moved them into it before end of last year the ground would have recovered by now. I should have fenced them into a small area of field during the really really bad rain, but instead i felt guilty about them being in a mud, and as a result they destroyed waaay more land then they needed too. Have to get my head around the fact that it's not the end of the world if they are in a muddy bit during the worst weather!

Groom Mum

Visit site