Which brand of yard equip to buy e.g. wheelbarrow, fork etc

SMIS

Visit site
Hi all,

I am going to be attempting DIY livery this year.
In preparation for winter I was hoping to start collecting equipment for mucking out and was hoping people could recommend or tell me steer clear of certain brands?
I am not a strong person so if anyone knows any lightweight products that are not going to break because they are so light that would be good.

I need the following -
WHEELBARROW
FORK (for hay) - not sure whether 4 or 5 prong is best??
SHOVEL
BRUSH
POO PICKER

If anyone has any recommendations please let me know.
Or if you think I need to add more items to my list also please let me know - I am completely new to this!
I have haynets, water & feed buckets, feed bins already.

Thanks for the advice!

9tails

Visit site
Why do you need a fork for hay?

What bedding are you going to use?

I'd recommend a large Haemmerlin wheelbarrow, 110 litres.

Get a large yard broom from your local tack shop

Speedskip for poo picking

Embo

Visit site
My broom is a cheapy one from B&Q! The kind where you choose a handle and head separately. I went for a plastic handle with a small soft-bristle head. I love it and everyone else likes to borrow it as it's so good haha!

I would avoid cheap plastic wheelbarrows - they are no good for shifting heavy muck and probably won't stand the test of time - especially through winter. Not the lightest, but I would go for a metal one every time. If you look by the wall next to our muck heap, there are loads of plastic barrows bodged up with baler twine etc or falling apart, and a few metal ones which are (in some cases) older and still going strong ;) not to say that all plastic ones are no good. Just speaking from personal experience.

I don't use a shovel and my horse is on shavings, so I have a 'Future Fork' shavings fork. Quite pricey but worth it.

SMIS

Visit site
Sorry I meant fork for straw, was speed typing on my lunch break.