Working with an intellegent nervous horse.

MJG

New User
Visit site
Hi,
A couple of months ago I took on a Cob which had been abandoned in my friends field for 2 years. I have had very little experience with horses but it had reached the stage where my friend was going to call in the slaughter van as she could not afford to keep looking after him so I said I would pay the bills.
The problem is I can't catch him and he is in desperate need of vet and farrier care.

I have been going up to the field everyday at the same time with food as well as just hanging around in it to get him used to me. With perseverance I have got him to the point where he will eat out of the bucket while I hold it and will let me touch his face if I move slowly.

I thought I would try to hide a halter in the bucket but the so and so checks before he puts his head in and he just bolted. Next I tried making a loop with a lungeline and putting it round the bucket. He ate from the bucket but as soon as I moved the line he was off again!

I just don't know what else I can try. Any ideas?

be positive

Visit site
I would make a small area where you can shut him in, a barn or shelter would be ideal but otherwise if he respects it an electric fenced area, get him to follow you into it, you need to be able to touch him properly before you try and get a rope on, he will be far too quick and strong if you try and rush to get something on him as however hard you try you will have to move quickly which will send him off and set the progress back.
Get him really used to you stroking him, scratching, reward his acceptance of you moving into his space, you need to find what he likes as a reward, it may be food or a scratch in a place he likes, clicker training may be worth trying once he understands the reward is there, take your time most will come round, he has managed so far without his feet being done a few more weeks to gain his trust will be worth it and it could take a long while.

JillA

Visit site