Would you consider getting a sharer for your dressage horse?

kirstie

Visit site
I mainly lurk in comp roders, but have found it to be a mine of good advise in here.

I have a lovely, talented but very opinionated and tricky mare. She is a 17hh Trakehner, rising 8 but is way behind in her training due to enforced time off and not picking a good trainer until the end of last year.

I used to work with horses and then broke my back in September 2010. We both had a long time off and I started riding again mid 2011. I can no longer work with horses anymore because of my injury and have started off in a new career which is going very well but as you would expect, I am not very highly paid as yet!

I did have Dakota at a nice DIY yard but it really wasn't working for me. I lost a lot of confidence after my accident and was progressing no where fast there. I moved her to a dressage yard that I absolutely love. The YO is a fab rider and trainer, the facilities are great and I have her on 5 day livery, but it is not cheap at all!
I feel like I need to be at this yard, I love it and am really progressing there but am struggling financially. I need the support of the yard that I am at and trust them implicitly with Dakota, she is so happy there.

To help with the finances, I think I may have to get a sharer. It is not something I want to do but it is more necessity. A bit of extra towards the cost of keeping her would really relieve the pressure a lot.

I am struggling with the idea of sharing though...

Would you share your dressage/ comp horse or would you scrape by financially?

The person would obviously have to ride well...

Help please!

CalllyH

Visit site
Yes I would if it gave me some help both time and money wise. There are some really good riders looking for a share out there.

Moment_of_Joy

Visit site