Youngsters and picking up feet!

countrybumpkin85

Visit site
Hi, I'm not a "novice novice", I have over 20 years equine experience and a couple of assited backings under my belt, but I've come accross an issue I've not had to deal with before and need some advice.
I have a rather chunky, large youngster, aged 3 who we're having issues getting him to pick up his feet.
I have had this with a much smaller youngster and we got through it, but seeing as this one os 3-4 times his size I physically cannot battle as much.

On his fronts he'll either spin round, kick his leg forwards as you lift it, or lean onto it and pull you down, at which point I'm cringing that he'll go down himself!

With backs he eithr kicks out as you lift (we were warned about this) or again forces it back down.

We've stuck with it and as I was taught previously make sure it goes down on our terms, not his. So we've not faffed about picking them out, just up, quick look and down then moved on to the next. We're trying this most days and trying to get him into a routine so he knows what to expect. Keeping it very calm, lots of talking and encouragememnt. Tryed distracting with food....didn't really work. It takes two generally, one to lift (my husband as I'm not string enough when he kicks out/pulls away to make sure he sets it down without hurting himself.) and then me standing either at his head for backs reassuring him, or by his side ready to try and prevent him spinning and knocking my husband over when he's doing the fronts.

I don't condone any rough methods, we're not in a rush with this horse, he's barefoot obviously and I'm yet to see him with the farrier, but our farrier isn't build like a rugby player bless him, so I'm a bit concerned that I'd like him a bit happier having his feet done before he's trimmed again.

Any tips or methods that have worked well for you?

StormyGale

Visit site