A question for experienced breeders

sonjafoers

Visit site
I am thinking of breeding from my 11 year old mare but as I have never done this before I am uncertain as to whether it is the right thing to do. I totally understand the ethics surrounding responsible breeding etc, and I would only breed this foal to keep it for myself. My mare has fantastic conformation & a wonderful temperament, hence the desire to breed from her! My question is that she is a 14.2 cob x hackney and ideally I would like to produce something a bit finer and that makes about 15.1 hh. My inexperienced thoughts were to put her to a TB or TB type, but I have now been advised that she will only breed something that she can carry & it is very unlikely she would produce a foal to make nearly a hand taller than her. Is this generally the case? I know it's not an exact science but any thoughts would be helpful.

Clodagh

Visit site
I'd put this in breeding...
personally I think (although am not experienced) she would need to go to a 16hh stallion for that height increase and would be risky for a maiden. But having read lots about it if she is chunky and you put her to a tb who is narrow she'd probably be OK as its the shoulders that can give trouble during birth.
My Welsh C, who is 13.2 had a foal before I got her and she went to a 15.2 stallion and foal should make 14.2 (its 2 now and on its way there).

lindsayH

Visit site