A questions for the beginner adult riders

Nayumi1

Visit site
So I started riding when I was very young however as a kid with many hobbies I ended up giving riding up not returning until last year at 30. I am absolutely in love with riding again and love the idea of one day competing in eventing (low level)

My questions to those out there who started as an adult is what level are you now competing at (if you are), did you find it harder beginning as an adult rider?

I don't expect to make the olympics but would like to know that low level competing is achievable for a late starter :)

skint1

Visit site
I think it totally is achievable, if you put your mind to it and practice. I didn't learn to ride til I was in my early 40s, I don't actually want to compete but I like taking lessons and things- I used to ride with a lady who didn't learn to ride properly til she was in her 60s, she competes at dressage quite a lot. It can be done!

Nayumi1

Visit site
Oh wow, its good to hear that it can be achievable! It might take me longer to learn now than when I was younger but I am definitely keen to do it.

The lady learning properly at 60 is amazing! kudos to her for doing it, I find that heart warming :)

Rumtytum

Have Marmite, will travel
Visit site
Really pleased you have taken up riding again and have dreams and ambitions! I'm 63, so at the far end of the spectrum, started riding a year and a half ago after 47 years - and I'd never had a proper lesson. So you have plenty of time:D. Doing low level dressage, got a few rosettes! The big difference for me now is I'm not as blasé about falling off as I was as a kid! On the positive side, it's less about me and more about the horse (riding school, fab instructor) and realising it's my riding which is at fault if the horse doesn't understand. Also as an adult I appreciate everything so much more. Good luck, am looking forward to your updates!

Nayumi1

Visit site