accidents in muddy fields

margiegran

Visit site
was just wondering if its better to keep your horse in when the fields are very muddy, Iv read on facebook of horses slipping and breaking legs. This is only the second winter Iv had with my horse, she's my first horse so Im not that experienced but I am sensible. Some of the other liveries are keeping their horses in. :rolleyes: p.s Im a 59yr old woman, and love any help and advice.

McW

Visit site
I tend to reduce the time out when ground is bad, less chance of boredom and starting to run about.

Izzwizz

Visit site
Personally I like to put them out whatever the weather for a little while at least. Less chance of them running about stupidly and having an accident through excitement and freshness.

Elvis

Visit site
That depends on a few things- how muddy is the field? And how does your horse behave in the field? Does your horse mind being in or prefer being out?

Unfortunately the fields won't get any better anytime soon, and you can't keep your horse in for the rest of winter. By keeping your horse in for a few days it might mean that when they finally get turned out they really let rip. I'd weigh up the situation dependant on the answers to the above questions.

My horse is turned out everyday regardless of the weather (except snow) at least for a few hours, but he's only in a field with one other horse and the field is quite flat.

Pearlsasinger

Up in the clouds
Visit site
We do keep ours in when the weather is atrocious because we are so exposed but tbh if we kept them in when the ground was wet and muddy and slippery, they'd probably be in from the end of September to the end of May.