Advice...i have a lazy mare!

jackbeauty

Visit site
Hi all
16.1hh Irish draft x Mare 12 yrs old
How do I wake up a plod in the school without using whip or spurs?

She is so much leg work! And wont go 'on her own' at all. I dont have a lot of history on her but im sure she was used in a riding school.

Ive tried putting her behind another horse which she responds to but she rushes & is clumsy, (tripping etc) & i spend most of the session controlling her speed so her head doesnt end up the other horses arse!
Even on the lunge u have to 'chase her up' all the time.
*Its got to the point where Im avoiding riding her or will hack out if others are.

Would having her professionally schooled help? Or is this gona be the way she is?

(Im a confident novice. bought her in August. I have weekly lessons with an instructor an hours drive away so cant take her. I have a girl riding her twice a week to get her fitness up. but she mostly does hacking around the farm)

Advice/ideas on this welcomed xxx

Syrah

Visit site
Why don't you want to use a whip?

When my mare has her lazy moments, one tap of the whip is all that is needed to back my leg up and she responds immediately after that.

Archiepoo

Visit site
schooling whips are designed for this exact problem,if your horse doesnt respond straight off your aid then a tap with the schooling whip will back up the aid. best thing to do would be get a good instructor to come to you and school her and also to have a lesson on her to make sure you are giving the aid in the correct place for this horse to understand what your asking.im sure it will all fall into place so enjoy :D:D:D:D:D

Auslander

Visit site
Why don't you want to use a whip?

When my mare has her lazy moments, one tap of the whip is all that is needed to back my leg up and she responds immediately after that.