Afford a horse on 15K a year?

Tori3610

Visit site
Hello 😊 my name is Victoria, I'm 18, from Northern Ireland and I am looking to get a horse again after being out of it a year.

Before giving it up, I had been riding since I was about 7 years old and it broke my heart to have to sell my amazing mare due to work commitments. I have since left that job and I really want a horse again! The only problem is money 😂 my parents paid for a lot of the expenses with my horses over the years but I want to be able to pay for it by myself now. At the minute I ride a friend's horse on occasion to get used to it again, but I'm busting to have my own! Even just a loan.

I am currently on minimum wage of 15K a year and I know a horse is about 4K a year plus surprise vet bills, etc. I don't have to pay any rent or pay off my car, so I was wondering if there are any of you who own/full loan a horse on this wage and is it possible?

Thanks 😄

Bays&Greys

Visit site
It's possible as I did if for a time at the start of my career. I don't necessarily think what you earn is the biggest factor, but what your outgoings are and the margin being finanxially fine and being not fine.

I kept my horse on DIY and didn't compete. I spent my money on things that mattered to my horse (as much turn out as possible, a good diet, access to veterinary treatment, physiotherapy treatment, having lessons etc) rather than having expensive marchy-matchy saddle pads or buying . I've sadly sadly lost count of the number of people that don't want to call a vet, pay to get a saddle fitted professionally or have a lesson to help with a problem but can afford £80 breeches or saddle pad ...

Like you, I lived at home & paid less rent, but still got by most months by saving money too. Very occasionally, Mum and Dad helped out - I remember Dad part fundin a new saddle and I paid him back the loaned when I needed yet another saddle for my changing-shape boy.