Am i pushing him too fast?

kayleigh_and_rocky

www.kayleigh-nicholls.piczo.com
Rock had 6weeks off work due to lameness from a foot infection. Hes been back in work for 3weeks now, first week was lungeing in pessoa every other day, second week every other day lungeing and every other day hacking for 30minutes. Last week i schooled him on the flat twice, hacked him out twice, and schooled him over poles and a small crosspole once. This week planning longer hacks, 1bigger jumping session and 2flatwork as well as lungeing. Atm hes still quite unfit, sweating a lot but this is also due to a really thick coat which im clipping on tuesday. Next monday (23rd) i have a 90cms jumping clinic and on wednesday 25th i have my first bsja on a day ticket. My question is, is this too soon? Am i pushing him too fast? Please ANY suggestions welcome

Fiona

Visit site
I am not an expert by any means on bring horses back to fitness, my welshie doesn't like holidays so never has more than a fortnight off at once.
Hpwever I am sure that I have read somewhere, that it should take roughly the time the horse has been off for to bring it back to the same level of fitness. Ie if your horse has been rested for six weeks, it should take six weeks to get him back to the same level. Most of the fitness guides published in mags etc seem to indicate walk and trot only for the first three weeks, introducing canter after this, and jumping after about 5-6 weeks. Sorry if this is not what you wanted to hear.

Fiona

siennamum

Visit site
Don't know whether yo're working to a fitness regime prescribed by the vet - in which case ignore me. BUT I would be concerned mainly about the amount of lunging you are doing tbh.3 or 4 times a week is a lot, especially for a young horse. You are much better off going for long steady hacks, an hour walking will be far better for him than a lunging session.