Another Napping thread.. Sorry :)

shmoo

Visit site
Is it possible to get over napping by just waiting it out. I have, very unfortunately landed up with a napper - I'm not experienced in this at all - first hack I just waited for 20 - 25 mins and he started moving again. 2nd hack I had to come back as it was a Saturday morning and the traffic was just too heavy. We made it to a quiet lane the previous time. Now I know for sure I can pick another quiet lane, and I am patient enough to sit there, but will it be enough or will I need professional help.

He doesn't really do anything, well he hasn't yet. Just stops.

I have tried circling both ways on tight rein to confuse him, then heading off in my original direction and that didn't work. Reversing, as he was willing to walk backwards.

Nothing else sprang to mind, as I said I haven't had a nappy horse before. I don't know if its a confidence thing (me with him, him with me, him with the world) or being naughty.

I need a lot more leg with this one, which I am doing but even anticipating the stop I couldn't prevent it.

Any advice?

FestiveFuzz

Visit site
I think it really depends on the individual horse and why it's napping.

H can be nappy at times. If he's unsure of something and has ground to a halt and is being looky I'll often give him a moment to take it all in before firmly asking him to walk on. The same goes for if he's running backwards. If I put my leg on whilst he's going backwards it just makes him run back faster so I tend to sit quietly until he's lost momentum and then ask for him to go forwards.

In all other scenarios I ask him firmly to walk on with my leg and voice as soon as I feel him hesitating. If he backs off when these aids are used I follow it up with a tap of the whip and a firmer "walk on". As soon as he's moving forward I give him lots of praise, neck pats and "good boy" to positively reinforce the idea that it's better to move forward like he's asked than nap.