Any advice appreciated.

M.T

New User
Visit site
Hi.
I've been hunting for a few years on a cob that had it all done before I got him, I now have a 4year 15.2 cob/draught that was broken during the summer, I've taken him hunting 3times over the past few weeks,
He was perfect on the first day out, but last weekend I took him out, he pulled all day, wanted to get into a canter all the time, ever when walking he wanted to trot, and would not wait at a bank/ditch,
We he settle again as he was always well behaved when hacking around with other horse's, l ride him in a snaffle bit, should I look for something stronger when hunting,
Nice few questions there, any advice ?

AmyMay

Situation normal
Visit site
You just need to get him used to it. They’re often worse second time out.

i would probably leave it now for this season and take him autumn hunting. When he’ll be bored, bored bored. Then when you start next season keep him at the back and only take him out on quiet days with smaller fields.

Reactions: M.T

Parrotperson

Visit site
yep agreed. autumn hunting is best place to start a youngster. go as often as you can from the first meet on. it gets gradually more exciting towards opening meet so he'll learn a lot.

Reactions: M.T

Shay

Visit site
Absolutely echo the last two. New horses are always worse on the 2nd and 3rd times - the first time they are bemused. The next few times they know what is coming and the are desperate to join in. After a while they figure out its a long enough day without being silly and settle down.