Any advice on leg position?

babs2507

Visit site
I have been riding for about 10 years now, and I currently ride a 13.2hh pony for someone. I am about 5ft 6, so quite tall for him, although he is capable of taking my weight.

I have been having difficulty lately with my right leg, as soon as I put my feet in the stirrups, my right leg feels like it is much longer. I have tried putting the length up, but then it feels incredibly short. Who I ride for says that my stirrups are even but Its me that doesnt feel it.

I want to feel even again as I know it cant be comfortable for the pony.... I rode my friends horse who is 17hh and didnt feel too uneven but it was still there a little bit.

I have been told that it may be my hips that are uneven.... Anyone have any ideas with regard to any exercises that may help??

FubsyMog

Visit site
No advice I'm afraid but will be watching this post with interest as I have a similar problem - one of my legs is slightly longer than the other and my hips are not entirely level.

babs2507

Visit site
I have been told that Pilates may help, although I think it would be more beneficial to try to do it while riding. One thing that did help when I first got him was to ride him while someone was lunging him. I took my feet out of the stirrups and walk, trot and cantered while on the lunge. It helped for about a week then returned back to uneven again.

Tammytoo

Visit site
I had this problem for years and eventually went to a chiropractor who told me my hips were uneven. I had 3 treatments and she gave me excercises to do and I've never looked back. Wish I'd gone years ago!

roosa93

New User
roosashorseylife.blogspot.fi
I have fixed this with Pilates! My legs didn't match up, and it ended up being the result of my hip flexors (iliacus and psoas muscles) being incredibly tight as well some muscles in my other (shorter) leg being tight as well. Once I got them to stretch properly I evened up! :)

Echo24

Visit site