Back issue / dissmounting

Taffieboy1

Visit site
Hi All,

So a question of 2 sides here. A guy at the yard has a rather wide & chunky pony, this is where the first half of the Q comes, after riding him for around 15 mins lets say, his ball & socket joints start to sieze up as he rides him, guess probably due to pony being on the wide side ? I have suggested maybe riding rather short in the stirrup rather than long, so maybe his joints would not be made to part so much ?

Now second part is, due to the above it takes a little time to dismount, aching joints so he takes feet from stirrups, and lifts right leg up and over the back, stops for a second or two then off he comes on the left side, now the pony on last 2 dismounts has swung his quarters away as he dismounts completely on the left, so pony swings away from jockey, would you say its making his back sore, hence throwing away ?

I am no expert, and do not claim to be, but thinks could be worth him having a physio take a quick look at pony back just in case, what you think ?

Any suggestions/thoughts on both questions much appreciated.

Pearlsasinger

Up in the clouds
Visit site
I guess the pony has just got fed up of standing around while the rider faffs around, shifting his weight about on top. I find that stepping of onto a high mounting block is the best way to dismount.

cobgoblin

Bugrit! Millennium hand and shrimp.
Visit site
The pony may just be reacting to all the rider's weight being on the near side for a while when he pauses.. Might be idea to check if the saddle is digging into his withers as the rider dismounts.

Shay

Visit site
OP - are you sure this gentleman would welcome advice from you? Sometimes the best thing to do on a yard is not to offer unsolicited advice to others.

Red-1

I used to be decisive, now I'm not so sure...
Visit site