Bates, Wintec or Collegiate?

nicnag

Visit site
Can some of you kind people shed some light for me?
New horse has come with a wintec saddle, fits him well but I detest it! It constantly squeaks and I hate to admit but I've become a saddle snob!
So, as the tree seems to suit him and the actual saddle itself doesn't offend me as far as my position etc is in it, I'm wondering whether I could replace it with a Bates or Collegiate saddle as I believe they are made by the same company?
Obviously will get it checked by a saddler but have just had the wintec checked and she says it suits his funny shape so basics seem to be there!
Opinions?

PucciNPoni

Visit site
I'm not a saddle expert by a long shot - but I recently tried Wintec, Collegiate and a friend has Bates. My friend is a saddle snob (tee hee) and went from Wintec Isabella dressage to WOW and then on to Bates - and she and the horse both really like the Bates. Even the instructor really likes the Bates.

When I was saddle shopping for a dressage saddle, I tried her Wintec on her horse and the same model in my horse's size and didn't like the feel of it...it's not that I don't like synthetic cos I don't mind. But it was that it did squeak that bothered, me too. The Collegiate didn't fit me or my horse, but the saddle sat in my kitchen for about 3 weeks and I did think it looked a decent enough saddle.

I think if I had a choice of the three, based on finish and feel, I'd go with the Bates. If I could have found a Bates to suit my horse's shape, I'd probably have bought one!

Damnation

Visit site
My mare is a saddle snob. She hates Wintecs and Collegiates. I have never tried her in a Bates but the stallion I ride has a Bates Dressage Saddle and I love it
laugh.gif

peanut

Visit site
I can't believe you saddle snobs lol
grin.gif
My friend has reached PSG in a second hand Wintec Isabella
smirk.gif
tongue.gif

Queenbee

Visit site