BD question

mrsh2010

Visit site
I am a newbie to BD and still trying to get my head around everything. So any advise gratefully received.
*I have enough sheets for Petplan but i could potentially get the remaining prelim points required for regionals before the cut off.*
So my question is which one should i aim for?*
Thank you in advance

Fuzzypuff

Visit site
Petplan is generally thought of as being slightly less competitive, due to the qualification requirements being lower. So often people do as PaddyMonty says and aim for Regionals at one level and the Petplan at the level above.

If you don't think you can manage Novice this year then you could just aim for Petplan prelim this summer and then try and do prelim Regionals next winter. If you were to get through to the Petplan finals you would be fine to do the regionals, but then if you got through to the winter champs from the regionals you would have to do those and give up your place at the Petplan finals.

It depends on your scores really and how much you want to be competitive.

kc100

Visit site
I guess it depends on a few things - the sorts of percentages you are getting (the requirements are lower for area festivals), your experience in high-profile/high-pressure competitions, your ambitions....if you can qualify for regionals then most people would generally say go for it as with horses you never know what is going to happen - you could get an injury next time regionals come around and miss out. But equally if you are not used to these larger competitions, if your horse hasnt experienced a high-profile show before with a bigger atmosphere then maybe areas would be best as it is slightly less pressure and a nice way to ease yourself in.

Or as the others have said, can you do Novice areas and prelim regionals?