Best dog food

ktj1891

Visit site
Hi,

Looking for advice on best dog foods, I am a wizz at horse feeds but complete novice with dog foods. What ingredience make up the best dog feed like with horses its all about high fibre low starch.

So far I have been advised of middle range feed as I am not a millionaire so cannot afford stupidly expensive dog food.

Skinners
Burgess
Oscars
Wainright
Taste of the Wild

I will need puppy food to begin with and move onto adult food.

Thank you for reading.

lexiedhb

Visit site
Last edited:

SCMSL

Visit site
From the brands you mentioned the best one is Taste of the Wild, since it had absolutely no cereals. I would go for the salmon one as its higher in omega 3's so great for adding shine to the coat and help protect those developing joints.

Bosworth

www.ballhillequestrian.co.uk
Another here for raw, and by far the cheapest way of feeding. Chicken necks and carcasses at 66p a kilo, butchers pet mince 85p a kilo. I get through 2 kilos of mince and 4 kilos of necks/ carcass a week for 2 dogs. I do use Barking Heads Salmon kibble if I am away for any time, but to be honest its far better for them and me when they are on pure raw

ktj1891

Visit site
Taste of the wild does look good but v expensive can anyone recommend a good feed that is no more that 40 pound ideally for a 15kg bag.

CorvusCorax

'It's only a laugh, no harm done'
Visit site
I fed Skinners and Wainwrights before moving to raw.

I use Burgess Supadog salmon and rice for tracking and training with at the moment (I feed from my pocket and feeding raw from my pocket is not happening!!!). It's more rice than salmon but it's not his main food source so I don't mind so much.

Fishmongers from Pets at Home is £30 for 10kg and has a very high fish content.
I bought the Supadog as it was a bigger bag for less money on special offer but I acknowledge that the Fishmongers is better quality and would feed it if it was the dog's main diet.

ktj1891

Visit site