Best place for the horses to go. some advice please

mastermax

Visit site
In a bit of a dilemma at the moment as where is the best place for the horses to go. Husband and I are due to move farms quite soon and my options are:

Keep on the farm, horses in paddock next to the back garden, stables right behind the garage, always on hand. fantastic in the winter as bringing in at night will be easy especially in the snow. Biggest downside.... no hacking. there are 400 acres of fields to ride around but not what I call a good couple of hours along tracks & lanes seeing everything that is going on around.

My second option is a paddock some 5 or 6 miles away (not too far I know), again stables can go up there but it will be a nightmare in the winter for time as being a dairy farmer, I will have to go and get them in in the dark evenings, no electricity after milking. The plus side is the hacking is better, with woods and tracks and lanes etc.

I will be joining a local riding club and will be hunting so they will see other things but just not sure what to do. It would be so easy to have them at home but worried that hacing around the fields will be boring and they may get out of the habit of seeing traffic etc.

Any advice welcome

Rose Folly

Visit site
As Bramblesmum! It's a no-brainer to me. Have them at home every time. It ticks all the boxes for expenses, time spent with horses, keeping an eye on them at all times, doing things your way.

And TBH, 400 acres of your own to ride on isn't bad! And you could always (farm policy permitting) make a little money by having a few carefully selected riders to ride the edges too, on a licence basis.

I've always had my horses at home, and if I couldn't, I wouldn't have them.

BigRed

Visit site
I'd keep them close to home. If the better hacking is 5 miles away, that is no distance for a horse. Make sure that a couple of times a week, you make the effort to hack off the farm on the roads.

mastermax

Visit site