Buying a first horse

HorseGirl01

New User
Visit site
Firstly, Hello! I am new to the forums, had an account a while ago, but stopped using it, so here I am, on a new one
smile.gif

Okay, so this could be a long one, appologies, I shall try to keep it as short as I can..
blush.gif

I have been riding for about 5 years now, only ever been to two riding schools, chopping and changing between the two over the years. Got a lot of experiences from both yards - good and bad.

I have now been riding a pony, owned by someone from one of those yards for about a year - well, just over a year. I am completely in love with him, he's so amazing, I won't bore you with the details, but whenever I think of myself riding, I picture myself on him, no other horse.

When I first started to ride him, I discovered that I was not quite the good rider I thought I was, and it took me a few months just to be able to ride the pony properly - but being the lovely pony he is, he put up with my bad riding and looked after me, bless him!
smile.gif

I have improved soo much over the past year or so and now feel I'm fully capable of doing more than what I'm doing on him - he is also capable of taking me to where I want to be, but as he is not mine, and I'm 'sharing' him with the owner, I feel I will never get there. It breaks my heart to think of not riding him any more, but I know one day things will change
frown.gif

I, like many other riders, suffer from nerves at shows, and I believe the only way I will ever get over these nerves is to ride more (am only riding 2/3 times a week) and do more shows (only do the occasional one - maybe every 3months) therefore the nerves are staying put.

One of my friends just recently got her own horse, and lets face it, yes I am extremely jealous - as most people would be
tongue.gif
but I am very pleased for her
smile.gif